Republican South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster signed a bill Thursday that bans abortion within the state after six weeks of being pregnant. The new law allows exceptions for deadly fetal anomalies, when the mom’s life and well being are at-risk. Victims of rape or incest can acquire abortions for as much as 12 weeks if they filed a police report and obtained certification from two medical doctors.

South Carolina’s is simply the newest in a string of strict restrictions on abortion handed by particular person states since Roe v. Wade was overturned by the Supreme Court docket final summer season.

Previous to the Supreme Court docket ruling in Dobbs v. Jackson Ladies’s Well being Group in June 2022, 18 Republican states throughout the South and West, resembling Alabama, Idaho, Mississippi and South Dakota, handed so-called “set off legal guidelines,” which outlawed abortion the moment the court handed down its verdict.

In latest months, eight different Republican-led states have enacted new legal guidelines that outlaw abortion at varied levels of being pregnant.

Here’s a information to the brand new abortion restrictions states have handed since final summer season:

South Carolina

The state had a 2021 set off regulation that banned abortion after cardiac exercise may be detected in a fetus, at round six weeks of being pregnant — however the state Supreme Court docket overturned that regulation in January, saying that it violated privateness rights within the state structure. That left abortion authorized till 22 weeks of being pregnant. Abortion suppliers within the state immediately filed suit towards the regulation in state courtroom, asking the courtroom to place in place a brief restraining order stopping the regulation’s implementation. On Friday, a South Carolina decide granted abortion suppliers’ request to dam a newly enacted six-week abortion ban whereas a authorized problem proceeds.


In Might, Republican lawmakers in Nebraska’s one-chamber Legislature amended a invoice that outlaws gender-affirming surgeries for anybody youthful than 19 and will impose new rules limiting entry to hormone remedy and puberty blocking medication for trans youth to additionally outlaw abortion after 12 weeks after which handed the measure. It was subsequently signed into regulation by Republican Nebraska Gov. Jim Pillen. There are exceptions for rape, incest and when the mom’s life is in peril. Nebraska beforehand outlawed abortion after 20 weeks of being pregnant. An effort in April to ban abortion after six weeks failed by one vote.

North Carolina

The state’s Home and Senate overrode the governor’s veto on a party-line vote, with Republicans having attained the three-fifths majority in each chambers after one Democratic state consultant modified events. State regulation beforehand banned almost all abortions after 20 weeks of being pregnant, and Cooper spent final week unsuccessfully making an attempt to steer at the least one Republican to facet with him and uphold his veto. North Carolina regulation beforehand banned almost all abortions after 20 weeks.

North Dakota

North Dakota adopted a law on April 24 banning abortion nearly fully, with exceptions within the first six weeks of being pregnant for circumstances of rape, incest, and medical emergencies. After six weeks, solely sure medical emergencies, resembling ectopic pregnancies would qualify for authorized abortions. In March, a earlier North Dakota abortion ban that was nearly as far-reaching was temporarily suspended by the state supreme court whereas a authorized problem proceeds. There are now not any abortion clinics in North Dakota. After Roe v. Wade was overturned, the state’s solely abortion clinic moved operations to Moorhead, Minn.


A regulation signed on April. 14 by Gov. Ron DeSantis would ban abortions after six weeks of being pregnant aside from victims of rape or incest or for girls whose well being is in danger. These searching for a kind of exceptions would even be required to produce evidence. The brand new regulation will take impact provided that the prevailing 15-week ban is upheld by the state Supreme Court docket in a present authorized problem. The state’s prime courtroom has a conservative majority.


The Hoosier State turned the primary within the nation to create new abortion restrictions after the Dobbs choice. In August 2022, Gov. Eric Holcomb, a Republican, signed a invoice that banned abortion, with restricted exceptions. Abortions are actually permitted in Indiana solely in circumstances of rape and incest within the first 10 weeks of being pregnant, as a way to shield the pregnant lady’s life or bodily well being, or if a fetus is recognized with a deadly anomaly. Medical doctors who present unlawful abortions are to be stripped of their medical license. Abortions may now be carried out solely in hospitals or outpatient facilities owned by hospitals — abortion clinics are now not legally in a position to function within the state. Enforcement of the new law, however, has been blocked pending the result of authorized challenges. The Indiana state Supreme Court docket heard oral arguments within the case in January.

West Virginia

Final September, West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice, a Republican, signed a law banning abortion besides in circumstances of rape or incest for as much as eight weeks of being pregnant for adults and 14 weeks for minors. It permits abortions of a nonviable fetus or embryo, and when there’s a medical emergency or an ectopic being pregnant. Suppliers of abortions not lined by these exceptions resist 10 years in jail.


In March, Wyoming turned the primary state to ban abortions conducted via oral medication, which account for a majority of abortions nationwide. The state already had a full abortion set off ban on the books, however it’s presently enjoined by courtroom order from implementing it. The identical abortion capsule is on the heart of federal lawsuits, as a Trump-appointed federal decide in Texas just lately overruled the FDA’s approval of the drug.


Earlier this month, Idaho turned the primary state to criminalize helping a minor get an abortion in one other state, with individuals convicted of breaking the regulation dealing with two to 5 years in jail. The regulation permits the state legal professional common to prosecute a case if native prosecutors decline to take action. It additionally permits relations of a pregnant little one or the one who impregnated her to file lawsuits towards medical professionals who present her abortion care, with as much as $20,000 for damages.

Well being Information On Newsmaac


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here