Republican South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster signed a bill Thursday that bans abortion within the state after six weeks of being pregnant. The new law allows exceptions for deadly fetal anomalies, when the mom’s life and well being are at-risk. Victims of rape or incest can acquire abortions for as much as 12 weeks if they filed a police report and obtained certification from two docs.

South Carolina’s is simply the newest in a string of strict restrictions on abortion handed by particular person states since Roe v. Wade was overturned by the Supreme Courtroom final summer season.

Previous to the Supreme Courtroom ruling in Dobbs v. Jackson Ladies’s Well being Group in June 2022, 18 Republican states throughout the South and West, corresponding to Alabama, Idaho, Mississippi and South Dakota, handed so-called “set off legal guidelines,” which outlawed abortion the moment the court handed down its verdict.

In current months, eight different Republican-led states have enacted new legal guidelines that outlaw abortion at varied levels of being pregnant.

Here’s a information to the brand new abortion restrictions states have handed since final summer season:

South Carolina

The state had a 2021 set off legislation that banned abortion after cardiac exercise might be detected in a fetus, at round six weeks of being pregnant — however the state Supreme Courtroom overturned that legislation in January, saying that it violated privateness rights within the state structure. That left abortion authorized till 22 weeks of being pregnant. Abortion suppliers within the state immediately filed suit towards the legislation in state court docket, asking the court docket to place in place a brief restraining order stopping the legislation’s implementation. On Friday, a South Carolina choose granted abortion suppliers’ request to dam a newly enacted six-week abortion ban whereas a authorized problem proceeds.


In Could, Republican lawmakers in Nebraska’s one-chamber Legislature amended a invoice that outlaws gender-affirming surgeries for anybody youthful than 19 and will impose new rules limiting entry to hormone remedy and puberty blocking medication for trans youth to additionally outlaw abortion after 12 weeks after which handed the measure. It was subsequently signed into legislation by Republican Nebraska Gov. Jim Pillen. There are exceptions for rape, incest and when the mom’s life is at risk. Nebraska beforehand outlawed abortion after 20 weeks of being pregnant. An effort in April to ban abortion after six weeks failed by one vote.

North Carolina

The state’s Home and Senate overrode the governor’s veto on a party-line vote, with Republicans having attained the three-fifths majority in each chambers after one Democratic state consultant modified events. State legislation beforehand banned practically all abortions after 20 weeks of being pregnant, and Cooper spent final week unsuccessfully attempting to steer no less than one Republican to facet with him and uphold his veto. North Carolina legislation beforehand banned practically all abortions after 20 weeks.

North Dakota

North Dakota adopted a law on April 24 banning abortion nearly completely, with exceptions within the first six weeks of being pregnant for instances of rape, incest, and medical emergencies. After six weeks, solely sure medical emergencies, corresponding to ectopic pregnancies would qualify for authorized abortions. In March, a earlier North Dakota abortion ban that was nearly as far-reaching was temporarily suspended by the state supreme court whereas a authorized problem proceeds. There are not any abortion clinics in North Dakota. After Roe v. Wade was overturned, the state’s solely abortion clinic moved operations to Moorhead, Minn.


A legislation signed on April. 14 by Gov. Ron DeSantis would ban abortions after six weeks of being pregnant aside from victims of rape or incest or for girls whose well being is in danger. These in search of a type of exceptions would even be required to produce evidence. The brand new legislation will take impact provided that the present 15-week ban is upheld by the state Supreme Courtroom in a present authorized problem. The state’s high court docket has a conservative majority.


The Hoosier State turned the primary within the nation to create new abortion restrictions after the Dobbs resolution. In August 2022, Gov. Eric Holcomb, a Republican, signed a invoice that banned abortion, with restricted exceptions. Abortions at the moment are permitted in Indiana solely in instances of rape and incest within the first 10 weeks of being pregnant, in an effort to shield the pregnant lady’s life or bodily well being, or if a fetus is recognized with a deadly anomaly. Medical doctors who present unlawful abortions are to be stripped of their medical license. Abortions may now be carried out solely in hospitals or outpatient facilities owned by hospitals — abortion clinics are not legally capable of function within the state. Enforcement of the new law, however, has been blocked pending the end result of authorized challenges. The Indiana state Supreme Courtroom heard oral arguments within the case in January.

West Virginia

Final September, West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice, a Republican, signed a law banning abortion besides in instances of rape or incest for as much as eight weeks of being pregnant for adults and 14 weeks for minors. It permits abortions of a nonviable fetus or embryo, and when there’s a medical emergency or an ectopic being pregnant. Suppliers of abortions not lined by these exceptions withstand 10 years in jail.


In March, Wyoming turned the primary state to ban abortions conducted via oral medication, which account for a majority of abortions nationwide. The state already had a full abortion set off ban on the books, however it’s at the moment enjoined by court docket order from implementing it. The identical abortion tablet is on the middle of federal lawsuits, as a Trump-appointed federal choose in Texas not too long ago overruled the FDA’s approval of the drug.


Earlier this month, Idaho turned the primary state to criminalize helping a minor get an abortion in one other state, with individuals convicted of breaking the legislation going through two to 5 years in jail. The legislation permits the state legal professional common to prosecute a case if native prosecutors decline to take action. It additionally permits relations of a pregnant youngster or the one who impregnated her to file lawsuits towards medical professionals who present her abortion care, with as much as $20,000 for damages.

Well being Information On Newsmaac


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here